December Trend Game Winner Announced!

Our December Trend Game Winner is Emily Winters from Harrisburg, PA! As one of the most trendy and knowledgeable people from our the NASFT Food Trend Game, we decided to find out a bit more about her to see how she gains her abilities to forecast the next and biggest food trends!

Q: Please tell us about your current job and what it entails.
A: While I was living in DC, I had an agency placing Private Chefs in private homes and I have also worked as a private chef. Recently, I moved to the capital of PA, and I have an ‘Underground Supper Club’ with a View. I am also looking for property to open a restaurant, and I am also looking into manufacturing a line of specialty foods. I have a lot on my plate, no pun intended!

Q: What professional food related publications, blogs, etc. do you read regularly.
A: Unfortunately, I don’t have much time to read. I used to receive Gourmet, and Bon Appetit, and occasionally a friend of mine sends me Sale & Pepe, La Cucina Italiana and Saveur from Italy.

Q: When you go out to eat-do you go to the same place or do you explore other cultures and types of restaurants?
A: When I go out to eat, I like to eat in the restaurants whose cuisine I wouldn’t normally prepare at home, i.e. Vietnamese, Thai, Korean, Indian…

Q: What is your favorite type of food? Favorite meal/dish?
A: My favorite meal or dishes? Well, anything Italian, prepared by an Italian or myself. And having grown up in NYC and having spent a lot of time in Italy, pizza – I love pizza and am the worst critic when it comes to pizza. I love making Paella, and I love Middle-Eastern cuisine.

Q: Favorite cookbook and cooking resource?
A: Hmmmm. Favorite cookbook…well, I’ll tell you the ones I refer to when I get stuck preparing the same thing over & over; Italy (and Tuscany) The Beautiful Cookbook, Classic Cuisine of he Italian Jews (Edda Servi Machlin),and The Foods of Israel Today.

Q: How many Fancy Food Shows have you participated in through the years?
A: Through the years, between NYC and SF, I’ve been to about a dozen shows.

Q: Any other tips or tricks for other people coming to the show?
A: Tips for newcomers to the show: be prepared to walk a lot – wear sneakers or comfortable shoes, dress comfortably. Don’t eat breakfast before the show, and only sample things that are of interest to your business first. Later sample other exotic products.

I am most excited about attending this year’s show because I want to enter a totally new area of food and beverage – manufacturing – and there will be seminars on this topic. And I can’t wait to make new contacts and see old friends. And of course, enjoy dinner at Fleur de Lys, for which I won a gift certificate!!!

Thanks for the advice and, congratulations again to Emily Winters! We can’t wait to see Emily at the NASFT Winter Fancy Food Show in San Francisco!

Leave a Reply

